California Music Center Logo

30th Klein Competition!

Irving Mitchell Klein
Irving M. Klein

The 30th annual Irving M. Klein International String Competition will take place June 4-7, 2015 at San Francisco State University; San Francisco, CA.

Thank you to all of the 2015 applicants. We will be selecting Semifinalists the week of March 16.

2014 Klein Winners
2014 winners: Angela Wee, violin (3rd Prize), Zlatomir Fung, cello (1st Prize), and Charles Seo, cello (2nd Prize). Photo by Scott Chernis.

2014-15 Prizewinner Concerts

Leading up to the 30th Klein Competition in June 2015, we have a packed calendar of concerts featuring past prizewinners This includes CMC-produced house concerts as well as orchestral appearances and recitals with our partner presenters. See the entire calendar here.

30th Klein Competition Celebration Concert

Tues, June 2, 7pm
Caroline H. Hume Concert Hall, San Francisco Conservatory of Music

Tickets: $40 general; $20 students; $100 premier seating and post-concert reception
Purchase tickets at EventBrite or call 415.252.1122
More details

Join us for this special concert as we celebrate the upcoming 30th Irving M. Klein International String Competition. An all-star gathering of past prizewinners join forces for the Mendelssohn Octet, as well as the Handel-Halvorsen Passacaglia and other works. Featuring Frank Huang, violin (1st Prize 1999), Tessa Lark, violin (1st Prize 2008), David Kim, viola (2nd Prize 2004), the Amphion Quartet (which includes two Klein prizewinners), and David Requiro, cello (1st Prize 2006).